Flag of Denmark in front of Nyhavn, Copenhagen, Denmark. Photographed by Niels Bosboom.
Flag of Denmark. Photo: Niels Bosboom

My mate said, and added: “I figured you’d get a kick out of that”. And of course I did!

Some of you might have come across this piece of information while browsing the infinite void that we call “the Internet”. After some research, I found out that the word to express these two meanings in Danish is “gift”, which brings a whole new level of greatness to the situation.

Just imagine the infinite number of puns that the Danes must be enjoying. I feel left out already. Also, imagine how much pleasure you’d get when walking around an English-speaking country and reading “GIFT SHOP” above the door of some store!

If any Danish linguist would be so kind as to share with me the etymology of this term, I’d be forever grateful. I’m just very curious to find out how this homograph came to exist. I mean, we can all come up with some personal conclusions, can’t we?

Comments, ideas, suggestions? Share them with me!